• Academics
  • News
Four Students Earn Presidential Scholars Nominations
Andrew Mouzin

Congratulations to our four seniors who have been named candidates for the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program. The U.S. Presidential Scholars Program was established in 1964 by executive order of the president, to recognize and honor some of our nation's most distinguished graduating high school seniors.

The program recognizes students based on three paths of accomplishment. A majority of the students are selected based on their academic achievement. Students must have scored exceptionally well on either the SAT or the ACT. Students are also chosen based on their artistic ability or their accomplishments in career and technical education fields.

Approximately 4,000 candidates from across the country have been recognized. In April, the list will be whittled down to around 800 semifinalists. Up to 161 students will eventually be selected to become U.S. Presidential Scholars. These students will be honored at a recognition program tentatively scheduled in June.

Congratulations to the following students:

  • Rishabh Gaur   
  • Jackson Hargroves
  • Jean Li
  • Ben Sheldon