• Academics
  • News
Upper School Science Olympiad Team Captures 24th Place At National Tournament
Andrew Mouzin

Congratulations to the upper school Science Olympiad team for capturing 24th place at the national Science Olympiad tournament June 1, at Cornell University in Ithaca, N.Y. The team earned top 30 finishes in 18 of the 23 events. PHS was the only independent school placing in the top half of the tournament out of close to 60 schools. This was the 28th trip to nationals, out of 31 years, for the upper school team.

"We are proud of Pembroke Hill’s legacy of achievement in STEM fields," coaches Lisa Barnett and Dr. Kim Cho ’96. "We wish to thank our dedicated science parents for their love and generous support!"

Students receiving medals in individual events (listed alphabetically) during the Award Ceremony were:

Fifth Place Medal 
Water Quality - Coleman Gliddon and Pallavi Jonnalagadda

Other events in which students placed in the top half of nationally-ranked teams:

Seventh Place
Disease Detectives - Jesse Chan and Pallavi Jonnalagadda

10th Place
Herpetology - Darwin Torrance and Tristan Wells

13th Place
Forensics - Dylan Chan and Rishabh Gaur

14th Place
Wright Stuff - Jesse Chan and Joshua Huang

16th Place
Anatomy and Physiology - Dylan Chan and Mulan Jiang

17th Place
Experimental Design - Dylan Chan, Mulan Jiang and Jam Navarro

19th Place
Sounds of Music - Dylan Chan and Jam Navarro

20th Place
Mission Possible - Nicholas Letts (Elizabeth Banks assisting)

20th Place
Write It Do It - Allison Banks and Elizabeth Banks

21st Place
Geologic Mapping - Rishabh Gaur and Tristan Wells

23rd Place
Codebusters - Rishabh Gaur, Joshua Huang and Aarav Yarlagadda

23rd Place
Designer Genes - Pallavi Jonnalagadda and Darwin Torrance

25th Place
Fossils - Nicholas Letts and Tristan Wells

26th Place
Circuit Lab - Mulan Jiang and Pallavi Jonnalagadda

26th Place
Mousetrap Vehicle - Nicholas Letts (Jam Navarro assisting)

27th Place
Chemistry Lab - Dylan Chan and Coleman Gliddon

30th Place
Boomilever - Jesse Chan and Joshua Huang


The Science Olympiad National Team consisted of:

Dylan Chan, Mulan Jiang and Pallavi Jonnalagadda

Team Members:
Seniors - Coleman Gliddon, Jackson Letts and Nicholas Letts

Juniors - Allison Banks, Elizabeth Banks, Joshua Huang and Jam Navarro

Sophomores - Sasha Dellenbaugh, Charles Fraga, Rishabh Gaur, Nicholas Rao, Tristan Wells and Aarav Yarlagadda

Freshmen - Jesse Chan, Savino Go, Ivyer Qu and Darwin Torrance

Kimberly Cho and Lisa Barnett

Volunteer Coaches:
Paul Chan, Scott Ruland and Jack Letts