• Academics
  • News
Upper School Speech And Debate Qualifies 12 To Nationals, Most In School History
Andrew Mouzin

The upper school speech and debate squad qualified four more students to nationals last night. In all, 12 students ultimately made it to nationals, which will be held virtually. However, Pembroke Hill has decided not to take part in the competition.

Those who qualified to Nationals are:

Policy Debate - Mubariz Tahirkheli and Aarav Yarlagadda (District Champions); Davis Miller and Thomson Corvin (District Runner-Ups); Josh Huang and David Marvin (Fourth Place)
Public Forum Debate - Caroline O'Shaughnessy and Zara Johnson (District Champions) 
Oratory - Gina Singh (District Champion)
Congress - Mary Abou Jawde (District Champion); Anoushka Makkad (Third Place); Charlie Doering-Powell (Seventh Place)

Students recognized as district finalists were:
United States Extemporaneous Speaking - Eli Toney (Fifth Place and District Finalist) 
International Extemporaneous Speaking - Gus Erdman (Fifth Place and District Finalist)
Humorous Interpretation - Meghan Sabharwal (Sixth Place and District Finalist)
Congress - Darwin Torrance (16th Place and District Finalist)

Well done, Raiders!