• Academics
  • News
US Speech And Debate Qualifies 17 For Nationals; Most In School History
Andrew Mouzin

The upper school speech and debate squad captured second place in Congress sweepstakes at the National Speech and Debate Association (NSDA) National Qualifying Tournament. The school has now qualified 17 students for the national competition, the most in school history.

Congress National Qualifiers

  • Piper Toney - first place
  • Addison Funk - third place
  • Dermot O'Connor - sixth place

Students advancing to finals/super sessions: Mary Abou Jawde, Cathy Martin and Selina Tahirkheli.

Additionally, Ingrid Li was named an At-Large National Qualifier. 

Here is the complete list of NSDA Qualifiers:

  • Policy Debate: Salil Chandramohan, Wynn Johnson, Muad Khalif and Jimmy O'Connell
  • Informative: Mary Abou Jawde and Rita Abou Jawde
  • Oratory: Naina Singh and Selina Tahirkheli 
  • United States Extemporaneous Speaking: Maya Burton and Eli Toney
  • International Extemporaneous Speaking: Wazi Asjad and Armaan Yarlagadda,
  • Congress: Addison Funk, Dermot O'Connor and Piper Toney
  • At-Large: Truman Connor and Ingrid Li